BLOG

We pay Cash for Cars Portland 7 days a week

Fred's Auto Removal | Local Car Buyer > Blog

Here is what you need to know when selling your car in Oregon.

So you need to sell your car in Oregon. What do you need to do in order to get it all set for the new owner? With a little help from the DMV, you’ll be on your way to getting your car off to its new home.

Firstly, you need to make sure the certificate of title is signed by yourself and is ready for the new owner to sign too. In the case that there is more than one owner listed, you’ll need to obtain their signatures as well.

The second item you need to fill out on the title is the odometer reading. The space for the odometer disclosure is located on the back of the title. You also have the choice to get a hold of an Odometer Disclosure (Form 403) from the DMV. There are two instances when the odometer disclosure isn’t required. One instance is when you have a car that wasn’t made with an odometer (it’s pretty hard to know the number of miles with no odometer to go off of!). The other time you won’t need it is if your vehicle has passed its 10th birthday.

When you hand over the car, the buyer might want a bill of sale. The form for this is Form 735-501. This document will record your car’s make, model, sale date, price at which it was sold, the names and addresses of both you and the buyer, license plate number, and the Vehicle Identification Number.

Now, this is where the DMV comes in. Once you’ve sold the car, you’ll want to let the DMV know within 10 days so that you won’t be held responsible for any expenses that show up for the car once it’s been taken away by the new owner. You have the choice to utilize snail mail in order to notify them or you can complete the process online.

For snail mail, send a filled out Notice of Sale or Transfer of a Vehicle (Form 735-6890) to the following address if you’re an Oregon resident:

DMV Headquarters
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314

If you choose to go the online route, the form you’ll need to fill out can be found at the following link: http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/Online_Services/Online_Index.aspx

Also, in addition to transferring the title and offering a bill of sale as evidence, don’t forget to cancel your insurance. When you’re selling your car privately, if these changes aren’t attended to, you could end up in a sticky situation if the new owner gets in an accident and all of the damage is filed under you because you’re still on the insurance or title. There are two other forms that can ensure this transfer is documented and they may or may not be required by the DMV or other departments in your state that handle vehicle matters. These would be release of liability or notice of transfer forms. If not required, they will at least be offered as an option. Please visit the following link for more information.

Everything’s now in place. Time to get your car sold!

“Oregon DMV Transferring Your License Plate.” Oregon DMV Transferring Your License Plate. Oregon.Gov, n.d. Web. 24 Aug. 2016. http://www.dmv.org/or-oregon/buy-sell/selling-your-car/paper-work-when-selling-a-car.php

“Oregon DMV Online Services.” Oregon DMV Online Services. N.p., n.d. Web. 24 Aug. 2016. http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/Online_Services/Online_Index.aspx

Read More

54cb12a7d467b_-_nyc-boot-01-0613-lgn

Portland is looking to begin targeting repeat parking violators with parking boots in place of instead of towing them.

Currently, the city has been dealing with repeat offenders by telling towing cars away. The city is looking to change their towing policy to instead allow them to boot the vehicles so that they become immobilized.

The idea behind this is that city officials want to give the vehicle owners an opportunity to pay off their tickets before their car is towed away. Rather than towing their car and charging them an additional several hundred dollars for the towing and overnight storage of it, owners will be able to pay for the fines and removal of the boot instead.

By doing this, residents of Portland can avoid having to pay unnecessary penalties. Portland Transportation Commissioner Steve Novak believes that the high rate of towing in the city can be significantly decreased by using parking boots as an opportunity for the driver to pay off their fines and time.

He spoke about this issue at the city Council meeting held this past Wednesday. He mentioned that booting a car is a more reasonable approach. Since the car remains stationary, it still allows the owner to retrieve their belongings while they wait on the release of their vehicle.

The plan would allow a car to be booted for 36 hours. During this period, the vehicle owner will be asked to contact the court regarding their fines. The city will boot vehicles Saturday through Thursday. Since the court is not open for the majority of the 36 hour period beginning on Friday, they will not boot cars on that day.

In total, $7.5 million is currently owed to the city of Portland in parking tickets alone and there are more than 4,750 vehicles that would be at risk to receive a boot as of today.

The city hopes that this more lenient approach will encourage drivers to pay more of their parking fines. Since they won’t be forced to pay towing fines right away, and they will have a grace period where they can avoid their car being towed, the city believes it will result in that $7.5 million in unpaid fines dropping substantially.

Vehicles will be eligible for a boot when they have accumulated 6 citations or they exceed $500.

The city council will vote on this policy next week. It is expected that it will be approved.

Read More